Oklahoma Scholastic Chess Organization (OSCO) tournaments and results are listed on this page. If you have questions, please contact us at okscholasticchess@gmail.com.


Follow OSCO on Facebook!

Upcoming K-12 tournaments
& results from past events

Be sure to check the tournaments page for listings of open events throughout the summer.


We're looking forward to seeing everybody next season! Thanks to all the kids and parents who've helped us make our 2021-22 season such a great one.

Jax Little at OSCO chess 2022_edited.png
OSCO State Championship
20220305-Chess Tournament-11_edited.png
Casady Classic
Max Gabe_edited.png
Yukon K-12 Open
Stillwater Scholastic Open
University of Tulsa K-12 Open
Umar and Cora_edited.png
OSCO Blitz Championship

2022 Oklahoma Scholastic State Championship

High School

#1 Jenks High School/Freshman Academy (Jenks)

Jenks HS FA.jpeg

Jenks chess sponsor Lynne Dooley is pictured with Roman Miller, National Master Ryan Amburgy, Liam Glynn, Parker Karas, Sarabjot Singh, and Juan Diego Hernandez. (Not pictured: Hakeem Hussain and Brooke Waters.


Amburgy went undefeated and took 1st place in the 9–12 Open, securing his second consecutive state championship title. 

Harding Charter Prep 9th Grader Maxwell Barnes was inducted into the OSCO Hall of Fame at Saturday's tournament after achieving a US Chess rating above 2000. He was one of four players to score 3.0 out of 4. The others were Oscar Wang, Joe Zacharias, Simon Hart,, and Stone Burton. Three players tied with perfect scores in the 9–12 U900: Jonah Brandenburgh (Bixby - OSIEL), Luis Blake (Deer Creek High School) and Benjamin Creech (OKC - Academy of Classical Christian Studies).

#2 Edmond North High School (Edmond)

IMG-5932 (1).jpg

The Edmond North team:  Jennifer Huang, Preston Koloen, Simon Hart, Kaylee Gandhi,
and Jax Little.


Huang, Gandhi, and Hart were members of the 2014 Ida Freeman Elementary National Championships team. Gandhi now coaches chess at Holy Trinity Elementary.  

Middle School

#1 Classen SAS Middle School (Oklahoma City)

IMG-5934 (1).jpg

Aryan Karn, Kirthika Duggisetty, 

Eli Mooney,  Viraj Singh,  and Rishi Rathi are pictured with OSCO president Chris Amburgy. Not pictured: Akarsh Vatsa.

Finishing in first place in the 6–8th Open was Raymond Jiang of Casady School in Oklahoma City. He will represent Oklahoma at the Dewain Barber National Tournament of Middle School Champions this summer.


Tied with four points each were Joshua Li (Stillwater Middle School), Elizabeth Braddy (homeschooled, Edmond), Benjamin Li (Stillwater Middle School), Lafayette Chen (Central Oklahoma Chess Club - Edmond), OKC Classen Middle School's Rishi Rathi and Viraj Singh, and William Lin (Stillwater).

Braddy will represent Oklahoma in the Ruth Haring National Tournament of Girls State Champions during the U.S. Open in Rancho Mirage, California this summer.


In the 6th–8th U800, Akshaj Dalavayi (Summit Middle School, Edmond) and Devansh Katakwar (Deer Creek Middle School) tied for first place with 4.5 points each. Kirthika Duggisetty and Som Gupta (Casady School, OKC) each scored 4.0. 

The teams from Casady School (Oklahoma City) and Jenks Middle School tied for second place.


#1 Country Lane Elementary (Broken Arrow)

Jenks chess club.jpeg

#2 Jenks Chess Club

#3 Zarrow International School (Tulsa)

This was the first tournament for all but one member of the team from Zarrow International. Ten of the twelve unrated players chose to compete in the Open, making Zarrow's third-place finish even more impressive.


Pictured: Ryan McIntosh, Gavin Stegall, Nicklas Czerwinski, Camden Stanford, Jonathan Sauter, Jace Goodlow, Liam Dobbs. Not pictured: Kaden Gonzalez, Leah Corngold, Truman Self, Carter Cross, George Gonzalez, Lily Graham