OKLAHOMA CHESS MAGAZINE, AUGUST 2022 Click here to read now

Day one of the 2022 Steve Wharry Consat

August 14, 2022 Oklahoma chess legend Jim Berry joined the Tulsa Midtown Chess Club on day one of the Steve Wharry Consat Classic. The event will continue on August 20.


Oklahoma chess team_edited.jpg

A strong finish for Oklahoma's 2022 Invitationals team

August 2, 2022

Our congratulations to Oklahoma's 2022 Oklahoma National Invitationals Team! Our representatives at this year's U.S. Open overcame some of the toughest competition in the nation to finish at No. 14 overall. Some highlights:

  • FM Ryan Amburgy finished eighth with a score of 4.0 in the Denker.

  • Elizabeth Braddy scored her first victory over a National Master. She finished with 4.0 the #12 spot in the Haring. 

  • Liam Applegate scored the biggest upset in the Rockefeller when he beat an opponent rated almost 500 points higher.

  • NM Tom Braunlich's 3.5 score included a draw against a GM.

Links to the results are in the photo caption. 

Max Barnes wins Texas Summer Championship

July 31, 2022

It's been the hottest month of the year for Oklahoma player Maxwell Barnes, whose sizzling streak of summer wins continued at the July 30 Texas Summer Championship in Plano. He finished in clear first place in the event's Open division, scoring 3.5 out of 4. 


Luscomb wins DCC FIDE V, scores big in Houston

July 25, 2022

Q: What's rising even faster than this summer's temperatures? A: David Luscomb's rating. Two weeks after his strong showing in the Oklahoma Open, Luscomb went 5 for 5 for a clear win at the DCC FIDE Premier V. He followed that with an outstanding (4.0/5) performance at the Houston Chess Festival, sending his rating to an all-time high (so far) of 2093. UPDATE (AUGUST 1): Following two one-day events in Dallas this weekend, Luscomb has reached 2100.

An Oklahoma invasion!

PHOTO: most, but not all, of Oklahoma's 30-player contingent at the 2022 Kansas Open & Championships. Oklahomans made up a quarter of the field at the event. Our group included tournament veterans, scholastic up-and-comers, and unrated players; plus moms, dads, and a grandfather competing alongside their kids.


July 25, 2022

There was a four-way tie for first at this year's Kansas Open & Championships, and half of it was from Oklahoma. Maxwell Barnes and Oscar Wang tied for the win in the Open division, along with Kansas's Jason Wawrzasek and Aayush Wadwha. Oklahoma newcomers also finished in the money in the Amateur, where Eric Bader (4.5) finished clear second and Hamilton Pensamento tied for third with fellow Oklahoman Leon Harvey (both 4.0). 

Three Oklahomans finished with plus scores in the Reserve: Viraj Singh (3.5), Garrett Hunt (3.0), and William Lin (3.0). Camilo Rubiano and Elliot Yii had plus scores in the Amateur section, and Yii took home the second-place Scholastic prize.



THE SIDE EVENTS: Blitz & Bughouse
The first-place tie in the main event's Open was the second tie of the weekend for Barnes and Wang. On Friday night, the pair ended up tied for third in the 
Kansas Open Blitz Championship. They finished just a half point off the winner, scoring 8.0 out of 10. Raymond Jiang (7.0) was a point behind them and a point ahead of fellow Oklahomans Camilo Rubiano, Elizabeth Braddy, Viraj Singh, and Hamilton Pensamento (all 6.0).

No record exists of this year's Kansas Bughouse Championship, so all we can tell you is that a lot of us played, and it was a blast. See how many of us you can spot in the video below.

Hats off to organizer Thomas Tran and chief TD Tony Dutiel for hosting this  outstanding event and for welcoming us to another Kansas triple crown. Results of the main event are posted here.

TIED AT THE TOP—TWICE! Maxwell Barnes and Oscar Wang tied for first in the Open/Championship section at the 2022 Kansas Open & Championships. They also tied in the blitz side event, where both scored 8.0 to finish in third.


Visit the archives for past articles.